Home > About Us > School History

School History

Kranji Secondary was established in 1995 and was temporarily sited in Chestnut Drive Secondary School. In 1996, the school was relocated to its present premises at 61 Choa Chu Kang Street 51. The school came under MOE’s Project for Renovating and Improving Existing Schools (PRIME) from 2016 to 2018. On 11 December 2018, the school shifted to its completed new premise after PRIME upgrading.

Since its inception, the school places a premium on imbibing in students a sense of pride and ownership in the community involvement. The school prides itself in establishing its long term collaboration with Yew Tee Citizens’ Consultative Committee (CCC) since 2005 and now with Limbang CCC after reclustering in the Constituency in 2018, to celebrate the annual Mid-Autumn Festival. This is a signature event which students put up innovative booths and cultural performances for residents in the community in celebration of cultural appreciation.

2005 Mid-Autuum Festival.jpg

In 2014, the school’s continuous efforts to provide students with leadership development and opportunities led to its affirmation when it was accorded the Learning for Life Programme (LLP) in Nurturing A Leader in Every Kranjian through Community and Youth Leadership. Undergirding the LLP is the school’s fundamental belief that every individual can be a leader, and the role of the school is to realise and develop the leadership potential in every student through training and opportunity. In 2016, the school started its Applied Learning Programme (ALP) which aims to nurture Communities of Reflective and Independent Learners through Thinking Curriculum. The school has its customized Thinking Curriculum where Thinking Routines (THR) are explicitly taught. The students are also exposed to the innovation process and provided with opportunities to apply the Thinking Skills in interdisciplinary project work to help them to be more future-ready.


The school will be celebrating its 25th anniversary in 2020.


  • Mr Steven Koh Yong Chiah (1996* – 1998)
  • Mdm Bibiana Loh (1999 – 2004)
  • Mdm Maureen Lee Wee Lin (2005 – 2010)
  • Miss Tan Hwee Pin (2011 – 2016)
  • Mr Goh Soon Hoe (2017 to present)
*Mrs Ang Ju Lang, Principal of Chestnut Drive Secondary School, covering as Principal for Kranji Secondary in 1995.